Skip To The Main Content

MDA Annual Awards

Nominations for 201​7-18 MDA Annual Awards are open though February 1, 2018.  
Awards will be presented in June 2018 at our Mississippi Dental Meeting.

Each year, the MDA accepts nominations for the following awards:  

  • Dentist of the Year Award
  • New Dentist of the Year Award
  • Humanitarian Award

How to nominate an individual:​ 

Nominations for these awards require submission by February 1, 2018 for review and consideration by the Council on Membership and Member Services. Nominations are to be electronically submitted via the link below.


The person making the nomination must be: a Mississippi Dental Association member, an employee of a member dentist, or directly involved in a dental related environment or profession. (Examples include: employed by a dental lab, works or volunteers at ​a charity dental clinic, serves as a dental program coordinator or is a UMMC SOD employee or alumni.) ​Individual submitting the nomination must include their name and contact information when completing and submitting a nomination form. 

Any supporting documents should be included with the nomination and mailed or emailed to the Mississippi Dental Association  office. (Example: copies of newspaper clippings, articles, photos etc. would be helpful to Council members who are reviewing and considering nominees.) When supporting documents are being provided, it should be noted on electronic form.


The MDA congratulates the following 2016-17 MDA Award recipients:

Dr. Mark Williams

Dr. ​Joe Burns

50 Year Members
District I - Dr. Robert Field, Dr. Charles Johnson and Dr. Donald Roten
District II - Dr. James Parkerson
District IV - Dr. ​​Danny O'Keefe and Dr. William Owen
District V - Dr. ​​Bruce Bleil and Dr. Ronald Simnicht
District VI - Dr. Edward Gaudet

Life Members  
District I - Dr. John Jones, Dr. Steven Wooten and Dr. Charles Young
District II - Dr. L. Gregory Evans,  and Dr. Dennis Hoover
District III - Dr. Stanley Hill, Dr. Joe Jordan, Dr. Robert Justus, Dr. Ramsey Wilson and Dr. Roger Woods
District IV - Dr. Karl Bierdeman, Dr. Keith Giffin, Dr. Roger Parkes, Dr. Eleanor Pruitt, Dr. Ted Rice,                     Dr. Robert Rives, Dr. Charles Taylor and Dr. Joseph Young
District V - Dr. James Bounds and Dr. Thomas Mason
District VI - Dr. ​Tom Lobrano and Dr. D. Eugene Parker

Dental Student Award
Dr. ​​Bryan Rhodes

Dental Hygiene Student Award
Ms .Lindsay Dunaway    -  MS Delta Community College