Mississippi Dental Political Action Committee


MDPAC is the political action committee of the Mississippi Dental Association. This committee provides an opportunity for dentists to collectively contribute to the campaigns of candidates who support the promotion of good oral health and will work with our professionals to address issues. When acting as a group, individual dentists can have significant impact on the political process. MDPAC is non-profit and bi-partisan, with the goal of influencing the political process for the good of dentistry and patients. The MDPAC Board oversees the activities of the group.

State and federal governments are a constant, sometimes intrusive presence in the dental office. With issues such as unsupervised practice by hygienists, patient protection, amalgam waste disposal, HIPAA regulations, and excessive state and federal regulations, we need lawmakers in the Mississippi legislature and U.S. Congress who understand dentistry and oral health care. MDPAC and ADPAC (the American Dental Association’s political action committee) are dentistry’s best hope of electing these individuals.

In addition to making political contributions, MDPAC maintains a statewide contact dentist system so that every politician in the state has a personal friend in dentistry. MDPAC hosts legislative receptions and legislative contact days, furthering the relationship between legislators and dentists.
  • What are suggested MDPAC contribution levels?
  • How can I donate to MDPAC?
  • How can I serve as a contact dentist?
  • What is the difference between MDPAC and ADPAC?

middleton “MDPAC empowers our members to help shape the political environment in order to protect the integrity of our dental profession and our patients.  The MDPAC helps our organization have a stronger voice in the political process and also makes our voices heard.  MDPAC contributions help elect candidates who in turn define public policies that support our profession. MDPAC needs your help.  Now more than ever we must increase our presence in the political arena.  We must elevate our support as well as encourage our colleagues to get involved.  If we want to preserve the way we practice dentistry, then we must help guide our political leaders in matters that impact our profession and the patients we serve. Help us  generate continuous contact and meaningful relationships with our legislators.  Help us make our voice heard. We must support MDPAC!”
-Dr. Drew Middleton, MDPAC Chairman

MDPAC ​Board Members

Chair: Dr. Drew Middleton
Sec/Treas: Dr. Mark Donald
Past Chair: Dr. Craig Martin
Officer: Dr. ​Joe Burns
Officer: Dr. Sherry Gwin
Officer: Dr. Peter Boswell
Officer: Dr. James Russell Dumas
District I: Dr. Scott Bauer, Dr. Ed Holliday
District II: Dr. Brant Kairit, Dr. Jason Coleman
District III: Dr. Drew Middleton, Dr. ​Britt McCarty
District IV: Dr. ​Fanasy Jefcoat, Dr. Stewart Strange
District V: Dr. Tony Chapman, Dr. John Sullivan
District VI: Dr. Valerie Turner, Dr. Delton Moore
D-4 Student: ​Hayden Horan
D-3 Student: Jolie Nguyen 
Lobbyist: Mr. Clifford Thompson
Alliance: Mrs. Peggy Rives
MDA Staff: ​Tasha Jones